The Housing Authority of the City of Charleston was organized on May 5, 1935 as a result of a declaration of need by the City Council of Charleston. Seven commissioners govern the Authority and are selected by the Mayor and City Council. The Commissioners employ a President/Chief Executive Officer and, through that person, the remaining staff are employed to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the Authority.

That mission is to provide decent, safe, sanitary and affordable housing to low and moderate income citizens of the City of Charleston. The 107 employees of the Authority provide the day-to-day operational support for 1,407 public housing households located throughout the City and over 1,593 Housing Choice Voucher Program participants living in private accommodations.

The Authority’s staff performs admissions, maintenance, property management, administrative, and resident service duties. In addition to operating the Public Housing and Housing Choice Voucher Program, the Authority has a Housing Finance Agency which is a component fund providing loans to create housing opportunities for low – and moderate – income citizens. The Housing Finance Agency arm of the Authority provides 1253 additional units of housing for the citizens of Charleston.

Office Hours By Appointment Only:
Monday through Thursday: 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Friday: 8:00 A.M. to 12:00 P.M.

Our Board of Commissioners:
Mrs. Courtenay N. Brack, CPM, Chair
Mr. Edward Kronsberg, Vice Chair
Mr. Todd C. Brown
Ms. Pamala Mosley
Mr. Herb Partlow
Mrs. Frances Reeder
Ms. Sharon D. Wigfall

Our full Vision Statement

Our Annual and 5 Year Plan

Our Annual Statement

Our 20-Year Retrospective Brochure

Our 75th Celebration Booklet

How is CHA Organized